old greeting cards are new again

A pile of old greeting cards- made new!

I started doing something earlier this year after I surveyed the mound of birthday, Christmas, and thank-you cards piled in my study.  Actually, they were sitting in this open wooden box, where my husband and I pile papers and mail that really aren’t important at the moment, and we need to do something with them, but we’d rather not.  So, as I’m finally sifting through that pile and looking at all those pretty, shiny, thoughtful greeting cards, I realized I didn’t want to simply throw them in the trash.  I decided to re-purpose them.  This is a great little (easy) craft that you can do- and just in time for the holiday season!  With some greeting cards as much as $3, $4, or $5 why not give it a try!  Here’s what you need:

1) An assortment of old greeting cards.

First I separated out the greeting cards that I really didn’t want to touch- the ones that really mean a lot, and left the ones I could part with.

2) Scissors.  A variety of scissors is great, but just one will do.

And that’s it! Here are my tips for re-purposing your cards:

– Did you get a card casually signed by your distant cousin?  Just cut off the entire back (inside) of he card so you’re left with just the front. Write your own greeting on the back of that, or use it as a gift tag on a present.

Cut around a pretty design or image and use that as a decoration for a present or gift tag.

– Does your card have an inside flap of paper that the greeting is printed on? Just pull out that inside paper and re-use the card!

Store your all new re-purposed greeting cards together in a bag or box.  I have a box I keep just for stationary.

a decorative edge

As I was looking for a little card to send my friend the other day, I realized what a nice little trick this was.  I didn’t have to run out and buy anything and I found just what I needed.  I’m sure there are many more crafts you could make using old greeting cards.  Feel free to leave a comment and share them!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christina Jay
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 22:29:01

    I do this too! My mother-in-law makes beautiful cards. I can’t stand the thought of throwing them away but keeping every one of them would get overwhelming. Great idea!

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 15:08:07

    Really good idea girl!

    Reply

  3. sweetpomegranate
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 20:26:45

    love this idea! thanks for sharing, and thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

