the weekend’s favorite finds

I can’t think of anything better to do during a nice Fall weekend than to do a little craft and antique shopping.  It’s the perfect place to find treasures for Christmas morning, and it’s so nice to be able to support local small business owners, especially if they are able to make the crafts themselves.

First stop of the day, a residential home where several ladies came to promote their small business.  Each lady was selling something different, like jewelry, handmade purses, glass etching, kitchen ware, or handmade baby items.  Since I was in direct sales myself in the past, and because my husband is an entrepreneur, I really enjoy supporting small business owners.

My favorite find there was definitely the sweet handmade ribbon blanket made by my friend Pam.  After having baby Natalie 9 months ago, she recently started Pammie’s Ribbonry (see link under Friends and Sponsors, to the right) selling handmade baby items like soft blankets, pacifier clips and adorable headbands and bows.  Even though I don’t know whether Baby McCardle will be a boy or a girl yet, I definitely couldn’t leave without something!

ribbon blanket made by my friend Pam

Anyone who lives around the Houston area knows what glorious weather we have been having and also knows how short lived it can be!  That’s why later that day my husband and I decided to go for a walk in a nearby park.  On the way we passed a small flea market and antique shop and my husband, the smart man that he is, decided we should stop by and look.

I was glad to find a wonderful red plaid blanket that was exactly what I needed for an upcoming Christmas sewing project of mine.  And only $3!  What’s even more fun than sewing is re-purposing fabric.  It feels great to breathe new life into something that might otherwise go unused.

the perfect Christmas fabric

It was a glorious day.  People were all about browsing through new and old items, several cats lounged about soaking up the cool air and warm sun, and there were enough trinkets and treasures to keep me perfectly satisfied for hours (seriously, take a look at their website http://vintagegiftsandantiques.com), but we did have other things to do.  Before we left though, I was thrilled to find one more thing.  Nearly hidden in one of the back rooms in  small box were a dozen calender tea towels all from different years.  Their old worn look was exactly what drew me to them and their pictures were so charming, I had to take some home with me.  I found three that I really loved.

It was a wonderful weekend shopping and being with my husband.  I hope yours was just as nice!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 16:10:38

    Hi there, I remember those old cloth calendars from long ago. Love the plaid Christmas cloth. What great wrapping paper that would make.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

