spinach and bacon quiche

There is really only one thing I have to say about this recipe- YUM.  Throughout this pregnancy I have been looking for easier ways to get in more calories and more protein- eggs being a wonderful source for expecting Mommas.  I thought I’d try this recipe and man am I glad I did!  Even my husband loved this one- which automatically gives it a special place in our family cookbook.  I even changed it up a bit to be easier and faster (original recipe from 2005 Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook). Just a note– the bacon in this recipe really makes this dish- so please don’t omit it, unless you are really watching your health!

Mmmmm…enjoy!

Need:

1 refrigerated pie crust

1/2 jar of real bacon peices

8 beaten eggs

1/2 c sour cream

1/2 c milk

1/4 tsp salt

2 generous handfuls of fresh spinach chopped

about a cup of shredded mozzarella cheese

 

1. Bake pie crust according to directions.

2. In a bowl, stir together all other ingredients.

3. Pour egg mixture into hot baked pie crust.  Bake at 325 degrees 45-50 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

Enjoy! (And I know you will)!


5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bkpannen
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 21:59:33

    If it is that taste like it looks… damn… lovely… 🙂

    Reply

  2. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 22:30:00

    That looks great, I’ll bet my picky husband would not eat it though. I might just make it anyway.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Eating to Nourish a Growing Family |

Leave a Reply

