homemade granola bars

I now fully understand when people say that there aren’t enough hours in the day to get everything done.  For me, being a mom means learning what is a priority and what isn’t.  When Marlee is asleep the timer inside my head immediately starts counting down.  I’m sure all moms must have this.  In the 1 to 2 hours she’ll likely be asleep (hopefully!) I can do one of a few things: 1) Sleep.  In the first couple weeks that’s all I would choose, but not as much now.  2) Eat.  Not only am I hungrier than ever, but I do not have enough hands or time sometimes to eat when I really would like to.  Sometimes my grumbly tummy just has to wait.  3) Clean.  You’d think this would be farther down on the list, but it really stresses me out even more when the house is a mess.  4) Run an errand.  A totally new adventure.  Or 5) Blog.  Which brings me to my post.  I have been wanting to post this recipe for a while because it is so good!

I created this “granola” bar recipe for two reasons.  One is that I love granola bars.  Two is that I needed a recipe that was free of dairy.  This one is, and you would be surprised at knowing the granola bars in the grocery store have milk in them.  Don’t ask me where, just read the ingredients- it’s there.  I gave up dairy for my little one.  She was showing signs that she might be sensitive to it, and dairy is the food group that is most common to irritate baby’s tummies.  And in some ways I think it is helping her.

Oh, and this is the easiest recipe ever.

Ingredients:

2 c old-fashioned rolled oats

1 c raisins

1/4 c brown sugar

1/2 c honey

4 Tablespoons butter*

*the first time I made these I actually just substituted olive oil here, but now I would use Earth Balance non-dairy butter

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp kosher salt

-Line glass casserole dish with wax or parchment paper and spray lightly with non-stick spray.

-Stir together oats and raisins in a big bowl.

-Simmer brown sugar, honey, butter, vanilla, and salt stirring constantly until smooth.

-Pour sugar and honey mixture into oat mixture and stir until all oats and raisins are coated very well.

-Pour into glass dish and put another piece of wax or parchment paper over it.  Put a very heavy book on top of that and press down.  Pressing the mixture is the key to getting it to stick and stay together.

-Refrigerate then cut into bars- enjoy!

(NOTE: Feel free to add an extra cup of peanuts, chocolate chips, or anything else you might like, but you might want to increase the brown sugar and honey mixture to make sure you have enough to coat everything.)

Yummy!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. linda
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 00:27:15

    Sounds great. I have been trying to make something similar for weeks. I keep putting it off. Wish it would make itself. Kisses to the little one.

    Reply

  2. thegentlehome
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 02:05:10

    lol, I wish a lot of things would make themselves!

    Reply

  3. Mea
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 19:59:10

    Ok so the batch I made wasn’t very…Bar-like lol but it still tastes amazing!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: {day 17} holiday baking with oats | the gentle home

Leave a Reply

