mama’s herb roasted chicken

Mother’s Day is coming up and I think this would be a great recipe to make for a beautiful and delicious entrée for mom.  (Dads can give mom a break in the cooking area that day!)

I have never roasted meat in my life.  Nor have I ever bought a chicken that actually resembled a chicken in my life.  I think that is a testament to how easy this recipe is!  Not only that, but my husband, upon seeing the beautiful golden brown bird started searching the kitchen for evidence that I had actually bought this chicken from the store, already cooked!  

Ingredients:

1 whole chicken

2 Tb melted butter

2 cloves garlic

1 tsp dried basil

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp dried thyme

black pepper

lemon slices (optional) 

1. Twist wing tips under back. Tie legs together. Place breast side up in a roasting pan or glass baking dish. (I set the bird on top of cut up carrots so it wouldn’t end up sitting in its own juices).

2. Brush with butter. Rub garlic over chicken. Leave cloves in pan.

3. Stir all herbs and salt and pepper together.  Rub over chicken.  Place lemon slices over breasts.

4. Roast, uncovered at 375 degrees. A 5 lb bird roasts at least 1 hour and 50 minutes.  Needs to be 180 degrees on a meat thermometer when done.

The fact that I do not have a picture of the final product shows how excited we were about eating it!  But it should be golden brown and smell delicious.  The lemon slices turn black in color, so I removed those before eating.

Enjoy!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. linda
    May 03, 2011 @ 21:40:18

    Oh that sounds so good. I love buying those from the grocery store that are already done. I am so lazy.

    Reply

  2. Ariel Havanah
    May 14, 2012 @ 04:21:47

    The part about ur hubby! Hilarious!!!! I tried the whole chicken finally the other day and it was very creepy… :/ But it turned out pretty yummy 🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: This Week at Home |

Leave a Reply

