festive birthday banner

I just love this project so much.  It is so easy and in no time you will have a fun, festive, colorful banner to hang for any occasion.  It is sure to put a smile on your face!  I made this one for my nephew’s first birthday party and it looked just adorable hanging on the gift table.  In this picture, it is hanging above our roll top desk in the study.  I wanted to see what my finished project looked like before I gave it to my nephew, but I really love the idea of just hanging this banner somewhere in the house- even if there’s no occasion.  Everyday can be a reason to celebrate!

This project is great when you want to re-purpose materials that might end up in the trash.  The blue striped fabric was actually an old t-shirt, and the bright red flag in the middle was a half of a piece of red felt that I had.  At first I thought I’d like to add more red, but then as I looked at it, I realized it looked great with one special piece right in the center!  Be creative, re-use and re-purpose!

How to make:

1. Take a paper grocery sack and draw a good looking triangle, then cut out.  This is your pattern.

2. Use this pattern and trace and cut triangles out of scraps of fabric. (The tops of my triangles are about 8″ across. I made 10 triangles or 20 triangle fabric pieces) Make sure to cut two triangles out of fabric for every one finished triangle.

3.  Right sides together topstitch the two sides of the triangles, leaving the tops open.

4. Pull right sides out, using a chopstick or end of a paintbrush to push the corners out. Press.

5. Arrange the triangles the way you want, then pin the bias tape/binding tape to the top.

6. Sew all the way across the tape making sure that you are catching each triangle fully inside that bias tape, and make sure to leave tape at the ends so you or the recipient can hang it up.  (I left about 10″ on either side) Now you’re done!

You can celebrate everyday!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 20:05:36

    Wonderful. I should really sew one up for my grandson’s birthday that is coming up in July.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Home Sewn Nursery |

Leave a Reply

