homemade pizza with roasted red pepper sauce

There’s something about baking that is pure magic.

At first, when you look at those simple, unassuming ingredients…flour, water, baking powder, salt…it doesn’t look like they will amount to much of anything.  But somehow after mixing, molding (praying!) and waiting you pull it out of the oven and find something so delicious, so perfect, it doesn’t seem real!  This is why I fell in love with baking.  There is something magical that happens inside that oven, that happens inside of me whenever I create something with my hands and with fresh ingredients from the earth, and every single time I bake, I feel it all over again.

This recipe is absolutely magical.

My husband adores pizza.  (Is there a guy out there who doesn’t?) So we really enjoy making pizza at home “from scratch,” but this usually means buying pizza dough already made and just heating it up.  This time I really wanted to see if I could make the dough truly from scratch.  I was a little worried at first, (I had my husband on stand by to go pick up prepared pizza dough just in case it was a flop!) but the recipe was so simple and straightforward that even if you have never baked before you could easily make this.

Ingredients:

Crust

2 c. flour
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp. baking powder
2/3 c. water
1/4 c. vegetable oil

Pizza

Prepared Roasted Red Pepper Pasta Sauce (O.K, so this pizza isn’t 100% homemade, but it’s just so easy to just buy a jar of pasta sauce and use that instead, and this Roasted Red Pepper flavor gives your pizza something special)

Pizza cheese (mozzarella, romano, parmesean etc)

Garlic salt or one garlic clove

Fresh mushrooms, chopped

Fresh baby spinach, chopped

(Or any other desired toppings!)

Directions:

1. In a bowl, mix the flour, salt, baking powder and water together.

2. Make sure your working surface is clean and dump your dough onto a floured surface.  Knead the dough until a good consistency (about 2 minutes).

There is something so organic about getting your hands dirty

3. Roll out to the desired thickness with a rolling pin.

4. Put dough on your baking sheet and rub with a little vegetable oil. (This will keep the tomato sauce from soaking into the bread).

5. Sprinkle a little garlic salt on the edges of the pizza or rub with a fresh garlic clove.

6. Pour desired amount of sauce over dough.

My husband doesn't like a lot of sauce

7. Sprinkle cheeses, spinach and mushrooms on top along with any other desired toppings.

Half cheese for him, half spinach and mushroom for me!

8. Bake in a 425 degree oven for 18-20 minutes.  Enjoy!

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 00:58:16

    Oh that looks great, I love pizza! Too bad I hate to cook.

    Reply

  2. thisisalfred
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 19:16:33

    Hah, you’re the opposite of my husband and I. I like just plain cheese (and make it double), and he likes the toppings. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

