this week at home

The days are hot and getting hotter and another weekend is coming to a close.  What has been going on in the gentle home this week?  A certain baby has been growing rapidly as we are constantly discovering new rolls on her chubby little thighs.  I had forgotten that one day she would out grow her pre-fold cloth diapers until recently when I struggled to pin it around her growing tummy.  So, a trip to the store it was, and new diapers are added to our collection.  While they seem absolutely enormous to my eyes now, I know one day they will again be too small for her.  Oh how I’m savoring each of these milestones.

So the too-small newborn diapers got a good wash, dry and hanging in the sun to erase the stains, and into a box they go, ready and waiting for the next little bottom they will one day hold.

Similarly, I boxed up (a rather large box) of all the clothes she can no longer wear.  Has she grown so big already?  I lingered over the smallest of her newborn onesies.  Was she ever really that small?  I’m trying to hang on to each day that she’s my little baby, but at the same time knowing that her growing is what absolutely must happen.  No, she is not a teeny tiny baby that sits perfectly content in your arms all day, now sometimes she squirms and wants to look around and I know one day she will want to run around too.  This is life’s journey- growing up, and I do not want to stop it.   

We also had good friends over this weekend, for a much needed get together.  We had what is becoming one of my most favorite dinner time meals, I call it, “Mama’s Herb Roasted Chicken.”  Rolls and salad with homemade dressing (see recipe below) and refreshing lemon water fit the bill for a delightful meal with wonderful people.

Homemade Olive Oil Salad Dressing

Light olive oil

Dijon mustard

Lemon juice

Salt

Pepper

For one salad, combine about 2 tablespoons of olive oil with a squirt of dijon mustard, a squirt of lemon juice and a dash of salt and pepper.  Whisk.  Taste with your finger and add any more of the ingredients to taste.  Making this dressing to taste is the best way to do it.  

What a pleasant week it was, indeed.  I wonder what next week will hold…

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 02:49:16

    I love your white serving pieces. Hope your new week holds only good things.

    Reply

  2. Hol
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 03:02:36

    You’re so thoughtful! Thank you for a lovely time my sweet friend! I agree, visiting with you, M and baby M was much needed and overdue. Next time we’ll have you to our house. Dinner was delicious, and I’m glad you posted the recipes. Funny thing, after we got home I realized that I meant to leave half the brownies there with you. Oops! 🙂

    Reply

  3. tinkerbelle86
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 10:32:39

    recipe sounds delicious. great post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

