baking bread

Today I did something I have always wanted to do.  Today I have made bread absolutely from scratch.  I made the dough, kneaded it, let it rise, shaped and baked it and do you know what?  It came out perfectly!  Oh, if I could only hand you a warm piece from my computer I would, and if you have not had the ridiculous pleasure of making your own bread from scratch then turn off your computer, dear reader, and get to the kitchen.  I promise you will be simply giddy in a couple hours time!

 

“Dinner Rolls” recipe from 2005 Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 02:35:09

    Yep I did that, once. It was neat but I would like to know the best way to do it outside as in the case of no electricity. If we had a hurricane or some other disaster that made it necessary. All of our technology is great until we don’t have it then we are like sitting ducks. I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately. I think when I made the recipe called for Crisco. What did you use? There must be some new fangled way to do it now that is heathier.

    Reply

    • thegentlehome
      Jul 27, 2011 @ 14:44:19

      That is a good point, we really are so dependent. When hurricane Ike hit us here, we lost power for 2 weeks! And you know what’s funny? Part of me enjoyed it! It was so quiet and peaceful not to have all these appliances and TV running all the time. (Except for the fact that I could not use my oven, and I began to loathe going out to eat). This recipe was super simple, and the only technology I needed was 15 minutes in the oven at the end, but I’m sure, if you knew how, there is probably some boy scout way of cooking bread over a fire or something. This recipe calls for flour, egg, salt, active yeast, butter, a little sugar, and milk. I let it rise in the (turned off) oven with a bowl of warm water on the bottom rack, but you could always try letting it rise in a warm draft free window.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

