texas fires rage on

This morning my husband and I awoke early to a little babe who decided to get up early…and so did we.  As my husband left for work he came back inside and said, “Honey, come out here.”  As I stepped outside the first thing I noticed was how cool it was (glorious!) but then immediately noticed the cloudy haze across the new morning sky and the distinct rich smoky smell of burning wood.

The wildfires have been particularly bad this year- worse than anytime I can remember.  The month of triple digit, hot and dry temperatures seemed to dry everything to a crisp.  Finally we are getting tolerable temperatures in the 80’s and 90’s, but with this wonderful temperature came a severe drop in humidity- bad for trying to put out fires. (Perhaps the only time we have actually wanted more humidity!)  And as we hoped the tropical storm would inch our way and give us a shower of relief, the only thing it brought to us was high wind- just awful for the fires that had already popped up.  And not one drop of rain!

My heart goes out to all those who have already lost their homes, their land and perhaps more than that.  I am glad though for everyone who is safe, albeit, homeless.  Recently, my husband and I have been looking at buying a couple acres in a neighborhood further from the city, and as it turns out, that neighborhood has been dangerously close to the uncontrollable fires as well.  I’m not sure why God allows certain things to happen, or why He wouldn’t just send some rain clouds our way to relieve us and help those exhausted firefighters, but what I do know is what the Scripture says.  This came to mind this morning and I will leave you with this:

“To everything there is a season, A time for every purpose under heaven: A time to be born and a time to die…A time to kill and a time to heal, A time to break down, and a time to build up; A time to weep and a time to laugh; A time to mourn and a time to dance; A time to gain and a time to lose…”

(See all of Ecclesiastes 3:1-8)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 13:36:26

    I pray that you guys and your area will stay safe or at least know soon enough if you need to get out. May God’s peace be with you.

    Reply

  2. Mea
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 16:09:27

    It really is scary. Especially since I could see the smoke rising from the trees on my way home from work. It was frightening seeing how close to our house it was. Love that verse in Ecclesiastes. It all happening for a reason, you cannot create something new without first destroying something else. If you want to make a dress you will have to cut the fabric. It all goes for a greater purpose. Hope you guys stay safe! we are praying our butts off over here. lol

    Reply

  3. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 18:36:05

    I’ve been thinking a lot about that verse lately and have considered starting a study on Ecclesiastes.

    Reply

    • thegentlehome
      Sep 15, 2011 @ 21:06:32

      That sounds like a great idea! I used to think that I had to have special books and pastors explain books of the Bible to me, but I learned, then confessed and repented because God says that the Holy Spirit will teach me all things and I do not need anyone to teach me (I can’t think of that verse at the moment). As I have been just reading scripture, thinking about each verse very carefully, looking up words I don’t know the meaning of in a regular english dictionary, and it’s been absolutely amazing what the Holy Spirit has revealed to me. I love the Word even more now!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

