garden’s first wonders

I am so pleased to bring to you today pictures of my garden’s first shoots!  I finally planted a few seeds last Saturday in my square foot garden, not realizing how hot it would still be this month, although cooler than our record highs last month.  I really didn’t want to wait too long to begin planting, this being my first vegetable garden, and so I planted two varieties of lettuce, carrots, beets, swiss chard and oregano that was supposed to do well in Summer or Fall weather.  I will be growing broccoli indoors for now since it is just too hot for it, and I will wait a month or so before planting that and my spinach in the garden.  Last week I excitedly told a friend that I had just planted a garden, to which they promptly replied it was just too hot and it would never take.  Feeling a bit discouraged, I resolved to water the garden everyday anyway, several times a day, whenever I noticed it begin to dry out, and just hoping for anything to happen.

This morning I went outside to water the garden and lo and behold, to my surprise I first noticed beautiful green and red shoots sprouting from my beet square!  I couldn’t believe my eyes!  Upon closer inspection, I noticed 4 wonderful little beet plants holding their little beet heads way up high, just above the dirt they so courageously pushed through!  I began to carefully search the other boxes and I was delighted to find many more sprouts! 1 in the carrot, lettuce and swiss chard boxes too!  I’m still not too sure how well they will do in this 90+ degree weather, but I will keep on watering and learning and hoping for the best!

before...

filling in the dirt...

now with the grids...

a beautiful beet shoot!

 

lettuce sprouting!

a carrot springing forth!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 18:34:05

    Wonderful! I wish I had energy and discipline to garden but I don’t. I think it’s great that you are doing this for your family.

    Reply

  2. Mea
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 03:38:37

    Excellent! I keep planning my garden. Right now its just now possible and I can’t give it the care it needs but someday I will. I’m so glad you are growing some of your own food. You wouldn’t believe how much better your produce will taste. I remember the carrots, cucumbers, squash, peppers ( green, banana, jalapeno and habinero) plums, nectarines and grapes and tomatoes we used to grow. WOW, where they ever good. just dont plant watermelon next to cucumbers. Trust me. Enjoy the bounty from your garden!

    Reply

  3. thegentlehome
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 04:30:23

    Thanks! Wow, you grew all that? I’m looking forward to growing more in the coming months!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

