first fall harvest

It was only a month and a half ago I was rolling up my sleeves, mixing soil and compost and preparing a box for my first ever (square foot garden) vegetable garden.  The day was warm, my fingers were dirty with earth and I was eager to see if I really could keep up a garden that would yield food for us to eat.  I can’t say I had terribly high hopes though because my track record with plants was well…not so good.  Just keeping them alive was the biggest challenge I faced.  But to my very pleasant surprise, many of the vegetables are growing- and well too.  I started modestly, planting carrots, beets, two kinds of lettuce, and swiss chard.  I’ve learned much so far, though it’s only been a short while since I started.  I realized that in September, even though Fall was nearing on the calender pages, here in Texas it really is still too hot for Fall crops to flourish.  Some seeds never sprouted, some did and then just never grew.  But some of each did grow, and that was more than enough for me!  

Although they all still need some time to reach maturity (and I have since planted new carrots, cauliflower, swiss chard and lettuce) some of the outer leaves on my growing lettuce heads looked quite big and delicious and so I have been carefully taking a couple leaves from each for my salads.  What an experience!  You seasoned gardeners must know that feeling- of starting with so little, a seed, then lovingly tending it and watching it grow out of that dark earth to become all that it was meant to- then with all joy and thankfulness taking it and using it to nourish and bring life to your family.  When you grow your own food, it really brings a whole new dimension to bowing your head at the dinner table to thank God for the food that you eat.  With all sincerity I can say, “Thank You” because without His sun and rain and the mysterious way He tells each tiny plant to grow, I would not have been able to enjoy the food that I planted.  

carrots and lettuce

looseleaf lettuce

mixture lettuce

tuna salad with garden fresh lettuce

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 02:28:42

    Thats so wonderful! I can’t imagine needing to do that just to survive and have something to eat. I have always said that if I were a pioneer I would have been naked, hungry and dead.

    Reply

  2. Mea
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 02:53:40

    Amen and So Mote it Be! there is nothing like fresh produce from the garden. I bet it was the best tasting ever. congrats on your success.

    Reply

  3. Lacey
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 22:51:47

    I LOVE your pictures. Your garden looks lovely and the food…yum!! Someday I want to start our own box garden…someday! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

