a home in the woods

There is a piece of land about thirty minutes away from our house where the trees are tall and the underbrush is thick.  On this land bugs as bright as sapphires flit about the trees and beetles hide in secret places under rocks and mossy tree trunks.  On this land where the earth’s carpet is thick with leaves, the quiet mornings beckon deer to the flowing waters of the creek nearby.  This small plot of land is ours, and it is an altogether different place to be.

We bought this piece of land a couple of months ago with the dream of one day building a house on it and living among the woods.  My husband grew up in places like this.  He remembers looking out the window to watch deer hanging out in the backyard and eating from their bird feeders.  But for me, this is a world separate from any place I have lived before.

The first time my husband and I walked through this piece of property, I was a bit nervous.  I’m not sure why.  It’s located in a neighborhood but this particular cul-de-sac had few neighbors living on it.  The land surrounding ours was empty.  The emptiness made it serenely quiet and peaceful.  We began walking back into the woods, my feet following closely behind my husband’s.  The underbrush was so thick you could barely get through it all.  My husband, like the gentlemen he is, pulled back branches and stepped down sticks so I could get through behind him.  We had to watch out for thorny stickers and low lying branches.

Suddenly, I heard a THUMP-thump-thump…

I stopped and held my breath.  “What was that?!” I wondered, thinking some person had been running back through our property, when my husband corrected me.  “It was a deer,” he said.

My heart raced a little and I smiled.  It was a deer!  I had been that close to a deer!  I was not used to this at all!  I was in awe of nature from that point on and realized that no matter when this would become our home, it had been their home first.

Recently, my husband and I went back out there at night to see what it was like after the sun went down.  We drove out there just at dusk.  The sun was sinking and bright pink clouds lit up the sky.  Soon it was dark and we were walking back through the woods.  Thankfully, this time we used the trail my husband cleared to get back into the plot, although we didn’t go as far as last time.  We sat in the chairs we had brought and just let the dark surround us.  It was quiet, but in the quietness was the music of crickets playing their song and the wind whispering through the trees.  Leaves rustled in tune and somewhere a dog barked.  The music of the woods at night played all around us.

We walked out from under the canopy of the trees and started to walk down the street.  I remembered how I couldn’t wait to get out there at night just so I could see what the stars looked like when they weren’t covered by the lights of the city.  I tilted my head back and looked up at the night sky.  Oh, the stars!  There were so many stars twinkling against the dark blue canvas of the sky- more than I have seen in a long time, but even the ones I could see I knew paled in comparison to how many actually existed.  But there they were- shimmering, glistening, sparkling- beautiful.  I even saw the Big Dipper, or perhaps it was the Little Dipper, I’m not sure.  We continued walking, but every couple of minutes I lifted my chin to see them again, thinking how bright and alive they made the dark woods feel.  I can only imagine how beautiful it will be to live beneath their covering.

One day it will be our home in the woods.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 19:31:19

    That’s a wonderful dream. It’s great that you have already made a start on it. You described it so beautifully.

    Reply

  2. Mea
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 04:15:21

    Oh how I would LOVE to live in the woods and be close to nature but unfortunatly Hubby would rather be smack in the middle of the city so we compromised with suburbia. Its not so bad since Hubby does constantly talk about camping. Cant wait to see the completion of your dream.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

