Quiet at Home

our Christmas house advent calender

This not so chilly Monday evening finds me home alone, with my husband away on business.  The house has been so quiet, a bit lonely, but nice still, leaving me lots of time to work on finishing up Christmas sewing projects and wrapping presents.  I’m, of course, not alone though and my little bundle of a baby definitely keeps me occupied.  Oh, how I’m loving her more everyday!  I can hear her now I think, babbling herself to sleep in her crib.  I know she’s tired, and sometimes it takes a while for her to realize that too.  As long as she’s not crying…

I have so much to be thankful for this Christmas.  My family of course, and how incredibly blessed we are.  We never have to worry about being hungry or that we might not be able to afford our shelter.  I met two little children on my street this last week.  I learned they had a much sadder story than I, and my heart broke for them.  I so long to scoop up little children like these, carry them away in my arms and tell them they will never have to worry about anything again.  I’d tell them there is enough love and food and warmth to last a lifetime, and isn’t that all we really need?  I love to give, but anything short of giving lonely children a home they deserve doesn’t seem to be enough.  I hope God will settle my heart.  I know I cannot help every needy person, and He alone is the one who has power to heal lives and love enough to transform, but still…He lives in me and I can feel His love in me desperately wanting to spill out to those who need it.  I’m not perfect either, but I pray God will teach me to be content with what work He wants me to do.  

As Christmas edges its way closer to us, I hope you are finding quiet nights at home too, with some time to relax, enjoying the season and drawing closer to God.  

cloth nativity scene...almost done

...she's not too sure about helping mommy

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 02:18:13

    I wish you much peace in your cozy little den. I had similiar thoughts about children who are without today. None that I know in particular, it’s just knowing that they are out there. I pray the Lord would bring his peace and love to them all above any other gift.

    Reply

  2. Mea
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 17:20:35

    mmmmm stuffing. It looks like she is trying to decide whether or not the batting goes in her mouth. lol. She is a real cutie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

