New Things

“Behold, the former things have come to pass, and new things I declare; before they spring forth I tell you of them.  Sing to the Lord a new song, And His praise from the ends of the earth…!” 

Isaiah 42: 9-10

New things.  Our former year has come to pass and God is definitely declaring new things every morning.  In this time of new things I can’t help but think of all the new children around me that God is “springing forth.”  In November, a friend of mine had her second baby, and this last week alone three of my friend’s babies were due!  And my sister-in-law is due to have her baby this year as well.  It is all so terribly exciting!  The newness of it all.  New families are being created, new children, new purposes for God’s kingdom work and new places for these children to serve.  New fingers and toes, new eyes to see so many wonderful things!  And of course new places in our hearts for these children and new love abounding.

This new year brings special significance for my family too.  This year is the year my own baby will turn one.  In just a couple short months we will mark the day that she came into this world, all new and pink and precious, and we will celebrate the journey that we have walked, this first year always holding a special place because of the joy and hardships it brought.  In these next couple of months I will be reflecting on my first year of motherhood, somehow expressing all that it has meant to me, how it has changed me and hopefully bringing encouragement to those embarking on their own first year.  I also can’t help but remember the day she was born, my homebirth story and the many miracles we witnessed on that day.  There is so much to remember and so much to look forward to!  I am looking ahead eagerly to the new things God will declare for me in 2012.

Happy New Year.

“Behold I will do a new thing, now it shall spring forth; Shall you not know it?”

Isaiah 43:19

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 00:09:54

    I know it!!!! Thank you Lord.

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 03:00:49

    Newness is wonderful. I’ve been reflecting on it, too. And new babies are just so beautiful and precious. Happy birthday to your little one! And congratulations to you on your first year of being a mother!

    Reply

  3. Mea
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 04:18:21

    Good Grief, I sat here and just could not figure out which one of your sister in laws was going to have a baby this year. Wow pregnancy brain strikes again lol. Congrats on your little one turning the big 1!

    Reply

  4. The Reinvented Lass
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 05:36:32

    I find your blog inspiring. Thanks for writing it!

    I have nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award. You can read about the award process on my blog at http://thereinventedlass.wordpress.com/ in the Versatile Blogger post. Congratulations! And thanks for your awesome blog!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Resources for Isaiah 42:9 - 10

Leave a Reply

