Garlic Lime Chicken Fajitas and Other Real Foods

Here in Texas we almost can’t survive without eating some type of tex-mex/mexican food on a regular basis.  This was our Valentine’s Day meal together at home.  My husband just loves fajitas.  All day I couldn’t wait to share this meal with him, and when the time finally came to savor these yummy fajitas, he said it was just like eating out at a restaurant.  Couldn’t get a better compliment than that!  

This recipe is from Nourishing Traditions and used with permission in The Maker’s Diet, a book that I am enjoying right now.  I will share with you the marinade used for the chicken in this recipe (I changed it a little), but for more on this recipe and others, I encourage you to check out one of these books from your library.  

Marinade for Chicken

1/2 cup lemon or lime juice.  (I used both, 1/2 of a juicy lemon and the juice from a couple of small limes)

4 garlic cloves, peeled and mashed

olive oil, about 6 Tbsp

fresh cilantro, chopped (not in the original recipe, I added this in)

1/4 cup pineapple juice (optional- I actually used the orange-pineapple-banana juice I had on hand)

1/2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp dried thyme

Mix well.  Marinate the chicken for several hours before cooking.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what to serve for my family to eat.  Actually I think about this all the time because every week I do the grocery shopping, and every week I try to come up with dinners for us to eat, not to mention having other snacks and breakfasts in the house.  Sometimes it is really draining, and I can’t think of anything good to eat- on a budget.  But then I know that this is such an important task.  I really have a lot of influence on the health of my family.  I’ve been reading The Maker’s Diet by Jordan S. Rubin, and browsing good blogs about what it means to serve your family healthy food.  And I can’t forget the word of God, I never realized before, actually has quite a lot to say to us about food, and here’s what I’ve learned so far:

We need to be eating real food.  Real food rarely comes in a box, bag or can.  Real food comes from nature.

We need to stop eating refined sugars.  That includes a lot of enriched white products too.  

Food comes from God, and more than that, God provides each one of us our food. Therefore…

I do not need to worry about what we are going to eat.  (So much easier said than done).

The appeal of fast, easy food is an illusion.  

The more time I invest in cooking or preparing a meal, the more I enjoy it, the more it satisfies.  Really!

I really like cooking and baking.

There’s a really good chance we all need to get back to cooking and preparing foods the way our great-grandparents did (and even before them too).

It is much easier to prepare good, real food when the home and being home, is a priority.  

 

Feel free to leave a comment and link to your blog or website if you have some good tips or recipes on eating real, nourishing food!

 

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anastasia
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 02:03:44

    Yum!

    Reply

  2. Linda Wright
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 16:14:14

    Mike is eating peppers & onions??? They are vegetables! 🙂

    Seriously, Brittany, you are doing a great job of taking care of your family…just the way God intended. I pray that you will continue to be a blessing to them!

    Reply

    • thegentlehome
      Feb 16, 2012 @ 17:47:06

      Ok, no…Mike did not eat the peppers or onions, and not even the avocado….but I did make this amazing spinach/mushroom frittata last night which he LOVED (we both did!)

      Reply

  3. Mea
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 16:26:36

    Its so much easier to cook when you are a stay at home. my best meals are on the days I dont work lol. but that will soon change and I am looking forward to actual cooking on a daily basis. Fajitas look good. Ill have to try them sometime after baby arrives since Im trying to watch what I eat.

    Reply

  4. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 21:50:17

    Great words of wisdom.The recipe looks great. My husband only eats hamburger meat and the only vegetable he will eat is cabbage and green beans. I hate to cook! Just imagine the fun I have going to the grocery store. Ugh. Tonight I am making chicken fillets with (boxed) stuffing over them and a can of cream of chicken soup. He will just have to eat it.

    Reply

    • thegentlehome
      Feb 17, 2012 @ 16:49:33

      My sympathies! I know because my husband is like that too sometimes. Sometimes I’ll sneak in something in a recipe (hidden) he says he doesn’t like and then when he says how much he loves it, I’ll say how I threw in some mushrooms or something. He’s definitely opened up to more things over the years.

      Reply

  5. Trackback: South of the border « The Reinvented Lass

Leave a Reply

