Freshly Green

There is a freshness in the air now.  We have had rain for a few days, and somehow, without me ever really noticing, our chilly dry winter air has given way to a most familiar heavy air, a moist air that hangs around your skin.  Thankfully, it still being early in the season, we have nice cool and beautiful dusks and dawns- a welcome delight.  But with that moist heavy air, comes green.  

There is a rocking chair that sits in the corner of our bedroom.  It is where I have rocked my little one since she was growing inside of me, and it is where I rock her still.  It faces the only window in the room.  I know that scene well.  The old rotted fence that, in all reality, needs to be replaced, but can’t because the bright orange flowered vines have made it their home.  The brick chimney on my neighbors house and the tops of trees that peer over the top of their roof.  For so long now all I’ve seen is bare branches and often gloomy skies.  But just recently, we sat down in our familiar rocking chair, to rock and nurse and quiet down and I saw the tops of green trees peering over at me.  When did that happen?  

Spring comes, tip-toeing in, and then with a sudden vibrant welcome we wake up one morning and the world is green once again, flowers are blooming and everything takes a deep breath.  Freshness has arrived.  

My growing babe just loves the outdoors.  I mean, adores!  We have noticed this trait in her since she was born.  If she was crying, it would quiet her.  If she was fussy, it would comfort her.  If she was restless, it would lull her to sleep.  She is, to my husband’s delight, just like him in that way.  It is one reason we would really love to move to a little bit of land one day.

I’m not really that way, as much.  I adore being among nature, but have never really been the “let’s play outside and get dirty” kind of girl.  Marlee, however, loves to be outside, crawling around, exclaiming in delight “ee!” and pointing to a tree or bush or flower she finds most attractive.  She also loves raking her hands through the grass and trying to pick up pill bugs with her chubby little fingers.  They are though, too fast for her.  Although I (and probably most moms) cringe whenever I see my clean little girl piling up dirt on her dress and under her fingernails, but truly I know it is good for her, in every way that can be good for a person to be among nature.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Juliana
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 11:47:25

    I so love this time of year as well! In fact, this early morning I have the windows open and it smells/sounds like a tropical paradise! You bring up an excellent similarity that I’ve never noticed. My little toddler simply adores being outside and playing in dirt and exploring plants and her daddy is the same way! He’s an avid gardener. I’ll have to point that out to him, that she’s very much like him in that regard. 🙂

    Your love of life and family is very evident and it’s such a breath of fresh air to see someone embrace all the little blessings of life! I know I need to do more of this!

    Reply

    • thegentlehome
      Mar 16, 2012 @ 14:10:40

      Thank you! That is really what I wanted the gentle home to be about! Inspiring others to live simply, to know that maybe the less we have or do, the more contented we become with what we have. It is something I am always reminding myself of!

      Reply

  2. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 22:18:40

    That’s so great that she loves to get out, get dirty and explore! I am beyond excited about spring. I feel like a bear out of hibernation. I feel like new person. I did the same thing as you, I looked out at our big tree in the back and said when did those green sprouts get there? I’m sure they weren’t there yesterday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

