Quiet and Settled.

Quiet and Settled.  Those are two things that I have not been as of late.  Over these last few days I have found myself restless, hurried and anxious for reasons that, truly, are silly when I come to think of it.  I start thinking, “Oh, I’m just not a good enough mom,” or I don’t feel like being a good mom today.  You know, those days when you just don’t feel like getting it together?  Or those days when you look in the mirror and sigh…ugh.  Those days.  And then, instead of freshening myself up, putting on some blush and lipstick and a smile and finding something enjoying for me and the little one to do, I just run with this life stealing thoughts.  And even I get into the trap of looking at other people’s lives (and blogs) and wishing if I were just a little more like them…

The other day I realized I had no peace.  I didn’t feel right inside.  I knew God’s Spirit inside of me was telling me I had lost sight of His word and what I was supposed to be dwelling on.  His love.  His provision for all my needs, including emotional, mental and physical.  His sovereignty.  He changes me from the inside out, I can do nothing on my own.  His guidance.  His peace.  I quickly ignored all those thoughts that I had been listening to for the past few days.  And remembered this,

“The Lord your God in your midst,
The Mighty One, will save;
He will rejoice over you with gladness,
He will quiet you with His love,
He will rejoice over you with singing.”

Zephaniah 3:17

He will quiet me with his love.  It’s one of my all time favorite scriptures.  Quiet and settled.  When I’m not, I know I’ve lost something very important.

Are you quiet and settled today?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Juliana
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 19:05:52

    I could have totally written this, no joke! This is exactly how its been for me recently. I’ve lost sight of the important things, especially His presence and I’ve turned to complaining and a life of frustration. Only within the last couple days have I ‘seen the light’ so to speak. Now it’s so different, I just wrote on my FB status ‘I feel so alive!’ and it’s true. My attitude, or should I say, my heart has been changed and I see life differently now. But yeah, I didnt have any peace last week and it was no one’s fault but my own because I didnt look to the source of my help and strength – the Maker of heaven and earth. (based off a Psalm) Thanks for sharing and I’m sure we all go through these try or even restless/frustrating phases. But I’m so glad we have His peace to rule our hearts, amen?

    Reply

  2. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 22:22:31

    Yes we all have moments like this especially in these hectic cracy tech filled worlds I think. Just realize that you don’t always have to have it alltogether. Take a day to wander around the house in your pj’s without combing your hair. Do nothing but watch tv or sit outside. Sometimes you need a break. And always always remember to never compare yourself to others. It is so obvious that you my dear are doing a great job! I’m sure far better than I did at your age.

    Reply

  3. Mea
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 05:28:19

    Meh we all take stumbles. Even I do. But times like these give us a chance to take a good look at ourselves. They make us just a wee bit stronger and help us to deepen out relationship with the Divine. And to answer the question. Yes very much so. Had a great day at work and now Im pretty quiet and settled both within and out. (Yawn) now time for bed!

    Reply

  4. Mea
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 17:56:47

    Me too. right now I cant stop thinking about doing the darn dishes and laundry lol. Im fighting the urge to wash all baby stuff now. Don’t want to do it too early lol. That will be my inner turmoil for the next week. I actually find it quite humerus.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

