This Weekend at the Farmer’s Market

This weekend was a lot of fun.  I finally got to visit the nearby farmer’s market I discovered last year.  A year ago I had just had my baby and was never able to make it out there and unfortunately, the market was seasonal, only open for a few weeks of the year.  I was overjoyed to hear that this year they’re transitioning to being a year-round market.  You can bet I was not about to miss out this spring, and I’m sure I will be back many more times this year.

The market was small, but had everything I could ask for!  They had local grass-fed meats, fresh vegetables and herbs, fresh farm fruits, pastured eggs, goat’s milk soap, beeswax wood polish and even a guy selling ready to eat Indian food.

beautiful beets

strawberries, best warmed from the sun

sweet potatoes and sugar snap peas

peppers, red onion, and broccoli

fresh oregano and rosemary

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 22:23:01

    It all looks great! I need to start going to ours.

    Reply

  2. Charlton
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 02:23:40

    we are going to pick strawberries at a farm in Alvin this week. They also have a fresh produce store from the rest of the farm that I’m excited to buy from!

    Reply

    • thegentlehome
      Mar 20, 2012 @ 15:55:03

      That’s so awesome! I hope you have a great time! That would be fun to actually go to a farm…There is an orchard off of 290, Matt’s Family Orchard where you can go pick your own berries. I’ve always wanted to try that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

