Never Too Busy for Bluebonnets

I can’t remember ever loving Spring so much.  I’ve been finding beauty everywhere.

My husband and I were “busy” (according to my standards) last Saturday.  He was getting ready to go on a business trip and we were running errands and had been out to lunch.  We went home for a while and then went back out to do some shopping.  We were not far from our house on the always crowded 6 lane highway, and as I was looking out my window I saw the familiar ditch (usually there for floods and drainage) next to our busy shopping area, but something caught my eye.  There were blue flowers, but could they be…? Yes they were Bluebonnets!  It was our beautiful state flower which only blooms for a short time each Spring, and they filled this lowly ditch!  I exclaimed with delight to my husband who was driving- Bluebonnets!!  Normally we would have to drive 45 minutes out of town, to the empty country fields to find them.  I really didn’t think he would, but my husband pulled over and we got out and walked down to see them, and snapped these priceless photos.

I couldn’t believe we were the only ones down there!  Everyone else just whizzed by, perhaps glancing at them on their way to their errands or maybe not even noticing them at all, but here we were, near a bustling intersection and strip mall and we were magically transported to a quiet country field of wildflowers!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Walking The Rough Road
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 02:30:43

    Fall and winter are my favorite seasons but I will admit I love seeing the beautiful patches of flowers when I drive down the highways.

    Reply

  2. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 19:19:34

    They are beautiful. We have a lot of red flowers along the interstate. I have no idea what they are. Sometimes purple.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

