Waste Not Want Not: Homemade Bread Crumbs

I believe baking is really forgiving, actually more forgiving than people give it credit for, but last week that didn’t seem to be the case.  I tried baking a couple of loaves of bread as I do most weeks, but this time I used a new recipe and trying to cut it in half didn’t fare (how do you halve 2/3 of a cup?!)  It didn’t rise and it just wasn’t right.  I baked them anyway and although edible, they were small and dense and strangely chewy.  I cringed at the thought of just tossing the loaves, so I thought I would make homemade bread crumbs.

Why bother with homemade (besides making use of botched loaves of bread)?  Well, if you make a habit of always reading the ingredient label on everything you buy (which I think everyone should begin doing) you might be surprised at what you find.  Corn syrups, oils, sugar, artificial colors, artificial flavors and preservatives end up in all kinds of things you would never expect.  Like condiments, bread and rolls, pickle relish and… bread crumbs.

I’ve never done this before, but I knew that bread crumbs were basically stale bread that was ground up into crumbs.

1.  Leave out your loaf of bread on a wire rack on a table or counter for a couple of days.  You want stale bread.  It goes faster if you cut the bread into slices first.

2.  Cut or tear it into pieces.

3.  Put them into a blender or food processor, no more than half full.  

coarse crumbs

4.  Blend until it resembles coarse crumbs.  Stop the blade, stir it up with a spoon to get the crumbs from the bottom to the top, and blend again until the crumbs are finer.

fine crumbs

5.  Store.  Saved glass jars from applesauce and tomato sauce are perfect for storing bread crumbs.  I stored mine in the fridge.

Homemade Toasted Bread Crumb Topping

Melt one Tablespoon butter in a skillet over medium heat.

Add 1/2 cup bread crumbs to skillet and heat through until toasted.

Sprinkle over casseroles, macaroni and cheese, or chicken and vegetables.

Yum!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Walking The Rough Road
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 02:19:45

    When life gives you lemons make lemonade! Because lemonade is awesome! Im still perfecting my baking skills. even though my breads come out botched 95% of the time I still find ways to enjoy them. Great Idea with the bread crumbs.

    Reply

  2. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 01:13:46

    Yeah like human hair!!! L-sciestene or something like that. I know I spelled it wrong. It is an ingredient in some breads. It is made from human hair. From China, no surprise there. Nothing against the Chinese people. But I don’t want hair in my food. I don’t care what the purpose is or that it has been washed or chemically treated which by the way would make it even worse.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

