The Many, Amazing Careers of a Stay-at-Home Mom

A couple of my friends who work and raise their children have told me, “I could never do what you do!”  What they mean is to stay at home all day and take care of my child, with which I emphatically reply, “And I could never do what you do!”  That is, work and be a wife and be a mama.  Of course, I’m sure I could if I had to, for the good of my family, for a season, but I definitely wouldn’t want to.  I’ve had other friends tell me that they wish they could stay home and be with their babies.  For some reasons like financial pressure, desire, or feeling like they just have to for the sake of their lifestyle, they don’t.  Still other not-yet-moms have told me they can’t wait to have babies so they can stay home and get out of the working world.

I whole heatedly believe that God has put a special desire in each woman to stay at home, watch over her household, raise her babies, and be a supportive wife to her husband.  Too often that desire in each woman is ignored, suppressed or downright rejected and too many woman stop hearing it- they stop believing that it was meant for them.

Being a stay at home mom is a privilege, but by that I don’t mean that it is only meant for a privileged few.  I mean it is an honor.  I believe it is meant for every woman whom God has given a husband.  God has given me a tremendous task, a generational-altering work to do- to raise godly children, to nourish them, to help my husband, and to create a nice home for them.  And none of these should be taken lightly!  Even without children, being a wife and home keeper are amazing God-given tasks.  Wives and mothers are also warriors.  They stand guard over their children and home when their husband is away.  They fight for their children through the devil’s schemes.  They love them in a way that no other human being can, and it’s this love that children crave beyond description- love from their mommy and daddy.  Not a day care worker, not a teacher, not a sitter- just mommy and daddy.

As a young child there were many things I thought I wanted to be when I “grew up.”  The first thing I can remember wanting to be was a vet.  I loved animals and could think of nothing better than to help them and love them.  I wanted to be a vet for a long time.  Later, when I was teenager, I was tall and thin and people thought I should model.  So for a short time I wanted to be a model, but more than that I loved fashion design.  I wanted to be a fashion designer and was thrilled was my parents gave me my first sewing machine.  Later on, after I realized what a stressful and often degrading industry that can be, I set my sights on helping people.  Perhaps I would be a nurse, a motivational speaker, a writer, a nutritionist or dietitian (food and health are subjects that never cease to fascinate me).  In the back of my head though what I really wanted to do was just to be home.  I wanted to get married young so I could have more time to have and raise babies.  My wish came true when I married at age 19, but it was a while before I was able to really focus on staying home, and before we were blessed with a baby.

Now that I am a stay at home mom I am, without a doubt, all these things and more!

I get to design clothes and sew them.  

I get to be a nurse when my baby is sick, finding the little things that will make her feel better, all the while studying and reading books on health and wellness.  

I get to be a motivational speaker everyday when I choose to speak kind, loving and life giving words to my child and husband, words that impart life.  

I get to write here and in my journals, which is a joy and pleasure.  

And (my favorite thing) is that I get to study nutrition and find the best ways to nourish my family.  This will never cease to be an important task, because families need nourishing everyday.  

I get to be a menu planner and gourmet chef delighting my family with new tastes.  

I get to be a gardener and an animal lover.  

I get to be an environmentalist and activist, recycling our waste, teaching my child and others about the importance of taking care of our planet and ourselves.  

I get to have fun playing and creating.  

I get to be a teacher, teaching the most important person I can think of- my own child.  

I get to be a wife and mama.

“…that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers…”

Titus 2:4-5

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Wright
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 16:12:40

    Awesome post, Brittany! You and your family are indeed blessed. It is great to see that you know & recognize that these are blessings from God. Keep up the good work. Love to you all,
    Aunt Linda

    Reply

  2. Tiffany
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 17:17:05

    Love your attitude! 🙂 Being a mother and a wife is such a blessing.

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 17:46:51

    I absolutely loved this post – very inspiring! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 19:17:07

    I have always felt the same way you have. I know that others don’t though. And like you said others can’t so I think in these circustances we should pitch in and offer more help than we usually do. My sister in law has always had great jobs and has always worked. My brother has always been the stay at home dad since the babies were born. For awhile he even took care of his sister in laws children at the same time as his! He had his hands full. I have always wished I could have been close enough to help out. I think we should include other peoples children in our lives more often than we do and think of them as family. If more people did this we would have less trouble in the world.

    Reply

  5. Walking The Rough Road
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 22:45:11

    Thats what I enjoy about being a stay at home you dont have to pick one career you can bee everything! Sure we dont get paid money but Money is so overrated anyway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

