The Hard Days (More on Stay at Home Mothering…)

Recently I wrote about how I love being a stay at home mom and how I believe that somewhere in every wife and mother is hardwired to want to take care of our homes and families.  But after writing this I realized that there was a chance I made my days sound like they were perpetually exciting, and that every morning I jumped out of bed, enthusiastic and full of energy.  So I must round out the picture for all you moms out there who might be feeling low because you don’t “have it all together.” (Who does?)

Some days are hard.

The idea that I bounce out of bed every morning ready and willing to do what needs to be done, and do it heartily is well, far from the truth!  Some days I really am full of energy and ready and glad to face my day, but a lot of days I don’t have any energy at all and I could give anything for just a little…more…sleep.

This week even, I’ve been so tired, and Marlee has been teething.  She’s had a fever which made her needy and clingy and sleep wasn’t that restful.  Dishes pile up.  Counters are dirty.  The dinner from last night that Marlee threw all over the floor is still there because I just didn’t feel like cleaning it up.  After chasing her around the house, holding, rocking, catching, and chasing some more, sitting down on the couch for more than 5 minutes seems like the most wonderful thing in the entire world.

Some days I ache with tiredness.  Those are pajamas days.  Days where all I can muster the energy to do is just to sit on the floor and watch Marlee play.  Those actually turn out to be really good days.  I laugh at the incredibly messy kitchen and ignore everything I know needs to get done.  Instead I watch her play, I watch her smile and laugh at me.  We make up new games.  I watch her be so silly.  We watch TV together.  We eat on the couch.  I don’t try to be good.  I don’t try to be perfect.  At the end of the those days I actually feel really good.  A nap and a shower doesn’t hurt either.

I’m trying to remind myself through writing these posts that life is full of adventure and that motherhood is the most wonderful thing I will ever do.  Life as a mother is never, ever boring.  But some days are harder than others and that’s OK.    

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lacey
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 12:55:23

    To be honest this post was encouraging to me as well. As much as I agree with your first post…this one strikes home with me. I’m learning to be thankful and content no matter what my house looks like. I have the privilege of being home with my three kids! Sometimes that means days like you described above and that is ok! 🙂 Thank you for this post!

    Reply

    • thegentlehome
      Apr 13, 2012 @ 14:22:15

      You’re welcome! I try to stay positive, but there are definitely many days where I’m just low on motivation, energy and oomph! That’s why I wanted to write this. But Motherhood isn’t easy, and I think we forget that. I try to remind myself, its ok not to be perfect 🙂

      Reply

  2. Walking The Rough Road
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 15:24:39

    The hard days are the best days!…..except for when you are dealing with fleas (scratch scratch). ALright back to the battle feild with me :p.

    Reply

  3. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 04:06:30

    Oh yes! It’s always better not to stress too much over a few dirty things. Rest is so important.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

