Barbecue on “The Land”

My husband’s parents bought land out in the same country neighborhood that my husband and I did.  Since there is nothing out there yet we simply call it “the land.”  This last weekend we had a great time welcoming my husband’s grandma in town, visiting with family, and eating good food.  Every outing is especially adventurous with a toddler around…

I put her in this cute white dress.  I don’t know what I was thinking; it kept getting progressively dirtier.  Dirt…then baked beans…then watermelon…

I made Scarlet Roasted Vegetables from Alicia Silverstone’s book The Kind Diet.

We found an inch worm!

Her first watermelon slice!

And a walk through the land…

What a fun day!

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Walking The Rough Road
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 03:15:08

    That was a really fun day! Good food and good company.

    Reply

  2. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 11:50:19

    That would have been the perfect time to have a pinafore or two like the ones Ginny on Small Things made for Easter for her girls. I love the idea. It will keep a nice dress clean then can be changed if needed.
    http://www.gsheller.com/

    Reply

    • thegentlehome
      Apr 18, 2012 @ 15:29:44

      That is a great idea! I LOVE old fashioned-ness in clothes or home or whatever. I actually have a pattern for a pinafore that came with a little dress pattern I bought. It is old fashioned with a peter pan collar and bloomers underneath. I haven’t made it yet but I want to. Thanks for the link to her blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

