Home Is Where We Are

I feel God moving and working.  Right now it is just behind the scenes.  But in the next few months it will be center stage what He is up to.  Or maybe not.  In the next five months my husband and I have 3 trips planned.  Two with family, one with just us, the latter one abroad.  That one being the one at the forefront of my mind.  This Summer we will have our very own overseas adventure.  Not a cookie-cutter touristy kind of trip, but a living, breathing, working abroad kind of trip.  It still amazes me that I am even saying this, that I am even going to do it.  That God would even decide to answer my prayer for an adventure.  You see, I don’t just want any old comfortable life.  I want a God-breathed, God-designed, God-planned life.  I want Him to take me places I’ve never even imagined.  I want to see His Spirit alive and well in me, and in the places I go.  I know God is up to something.  I knew it when I turned 27 in December.  I felt it would be an amazing year, well, I had faith that it would be, and I still do.  I have a sense that this is only just the beginning.

I have faith.  

So, right now home is here, where it has always been.  Warm, comfortable, very familiar.  Soon our (temporary) home will be far away, probably cooler, and not at all familiar.  I tremble at the thought that God decided I was ready for this.  So many of our friends have confessed they were jealous of our travelling plans and are excited for us.  It might not even mean much to them.  “Oh, I’d love to travel the world someday,” they’d say.  But you see, I am not a traveler.  I’d be perfectly content staying right here the rest of my life.  But then again, would I be?  I long to be involved in God’s agenda, in His business.  But His business is always bigger than anything we could accomplish ourselves.  So it always seems intimating at first.  That is it’s beauty.  To have the Creator of the universe humble Himself and take you by the hand to raise you up to be with Him and to work with Him.  

I’ve decided that home will be wherever we are.  I choose to go with my husband abroad, to be his helper and to be his wife wherever he goes.  I’m taking the hand of my Father and eagerly expecting to see what amazing plans He has laid out for my life.  

   

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristy
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 22:42:44

    I believe God is sending you to Scotland to be a witness to all those that do not know Him. A small percentage of people there go to church. He will use you to touch others there. I am so excited for you!!

    Reply

  2. Walking The Rough Road
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 01:36:26

    I will admit even I was scared my first time over seas. It is a new adventure. When I went to London for a week I was surprised that even though we spoke the same language there many cultural differences. But still it was a grand time. I know its scary especially since on the way there its like flying through a vortex or something. But as with all journeys one must have faith, that is true. It will be a great experience and it will change your life in some shape or form.

    Reply

  3. Booksphotographsandartwork
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 04:14:40

    Good for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

