Nourishing Breakfast: Blueberry Almond Steel Cut Oats

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.  The day has just begun, I’m hungry and ready for something really yummy.  I’ve (pretty much) officially started eating vegan and sometimes vegetarian.  Contrary to what many may think, it is not limiting at all!  Actually, it’s opened up a whole new world of foods to me that before I never would have considered.  I’ve become familiar with foods like quinoa, barley and hummus.  While vegan breakfasts really aren’t that different from omnivore’s breakfasts (just swap out the dairy milk with non-dairy milk in your cereal) I still wanted to try something new and wholesome.  Steel cut oats are the second least processed type of oat.  The least processed oat are oat groats (read more here on types of oats).  What’s interesting is that I really don’t like oatmeal.  The instant oatmeal (least nutritious) is pretty good only because it’s laden with sugar and flavors, but the old fashioned rolled oats which are a little better nutritionally, I think, tastes like cardboard.  Still, I thought I would give steel cut oats a try- I knew I didn’t want to go back to the breakfast I had for years which was sugary cold cereals with cow’s milk.

So I soaked the steel cut oats overnight to soften them (and some believe this also makes them easier to digest) then cooked them over the stove top.  To my surprise, I found that they had a much better texture and flavor than old-fashioned rolled oats.

Top your steel cut oats with a generous pouring of your favorite non-dairy milk (or milk).  I like coconut or almond milk.  Then sprinkle on the cinnamon.  Top that with fresh fruit like blueberries or banana slices and sliced almonds.  Add a little drizzle of maple syrup and you will be in breakfast heaven!  This is a highly nutritious, warm, filling and satisfying breakfast for the whole family!

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Booksphotographsandartwork
    May 13, 2012 @ 03:52:22

    I have been trying very hard to cut out the chicken and turkey, the only meat that I usually eat and tonight I had to buy fried chicken for my husband. The smell was good I could hardly stand it. I made it, I didn’t eat any. Ok well a few pieces of the crust.

    I eat rolled oats every day but I have to have plenty of salt and butter or forget it. I have found that I can be just as happy substituting coconut oil but that is so fattening! I had to stop using that and it is so good in oikos greek vanilla yogurt! It makes a very interesting and fun waxy like texture.

    Reply

    • thegentlehome
      May 14, 2012 @ 15:22:02

      Yes, sometimes the smells of foods that I am familiar with are really good to me, but I’ve noticed things that I use to eat before don’t sit as well with me anymore, so I’m losing the taste for them. I love coconut oil as well, there are many who believe that since it is from a plant, it is not at all the same as animal fat and therefore is actually good for you, like in the way that avocados are very good for you. And we do need fat! Just not a lot of bad fats. I’d say if it comes from a plant, it has to be good for you!

      Reply

  2. Linda Wright
    May 14, 2012 @ 14:44:09

    Hi Brittany! If you add some chopped dates when you are cooking the oats, you won’t need any additional sweetner. I also like to use almond milk for 1/4 to 1/3 of the water to make them creamier. Don’t forget the pinch of sea salt…it brings out the flavor. Uncle Mike & I have been enjoying them this way for years. We also like chopped toasted pecans on top. Hey, how is your non-vegetable eating husband doing with your vegetarian/vegan eating plan?
    Love, Aunt Linda

    Reply

    • thegentlehome
      May 14, 2012 @ 15:18:35

      Wow those are great ideas! I should email you when I have any questions about these new foods I’ve been trying, because you have probably tried them! Well, I definitely don’t make Mike try the foods that I eat if he doesn’t want to (learned that lesson the hard way!) Sometimes he will try something new and surprise me, but I really have made up my mind not to make two meals for dinner every night, so just getting creative. Recently I made pot pies, and instead of making one big one like I always do, I made individual pies (which is fun) and made his chicken and just omitted the chicken from mine. Baked goods are easy, he doesn’t really notice that I use cornstarch and water instead of eggs. It’s definitely a learning process!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

