My Summer Salad: Mango, Avocado and Cucumber Salad

This is a perfect, refreshing Summer salad.  I found it in a Real Simple magazine and knew I had to try it.  Can you believe I don’t think I have ever tasted a real, fresh mango before this time?  It was absolutely amazing!  Try it and you’ll see!

Need:

1 ripe mango, peeled of its skin and chopped into cubes (that is if you don’t eat all of it first!)

1 cucumber, peeled if not organic, and then chopped

several thin slices of a fresh red onion (yum)

1 small ripe avocado, peeled, pit removed and chopped (you can also add just a pinch of sea salt if you would like)

lime juice

dash of pepper

Combine all ingredients and toss gently.  At first I thought, pepper?  Really?  But the mango and the avocado are so sweet and delicious that the pepper adds just the perfect hint of spiciness that compliments all the juicy sweetness.  Enjoy! (Even my 15 month old loved to eat the mango and avocado chunks!)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Booksphotographsandartwork
    May 25, 2012 @ 20:49:40

    That is beautiful.

    Reply

  2. Jessica
    May 28, 2012 @ 17:13:48

    This sounds incredible! If it wasn’t a holiday, I’d seriously think about running to the store to get these ingredients. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Elizabeth
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 01:48:51

    Yummy! You always make the best looking food. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Rochi Samra
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 22:02:54

    hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this website, as I experienced to reload the site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your respective interesting content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

    Reply

  5. Jessica
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 15:36:06

    So a month later, I’ve made this salad 3 or 4 times and I just wanted to thank you again for posting it! So delicious… I’ve made it for my entree on several hot summer nights and have to stop myself from eating the whole thing and making a 2nd batch. 😉

    Reply

    • thegentlehome
      Jul 04, 2012 @ 16:29:11

      Oh, thank you for sharing that! You are so welcome! It is seriously delicious isn’t it?! I do have to stop myself from eating the whole thing in one sitting 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

