Dinner At Home

We were so pleased to have my mom and my husband’s parents over for dinner tonight.  We thought about going out to eat, but my husband and I suggested we have dinner at our house instead.  Eating at home is so much more intimate and special.  It allows the host or hostess the joy of serving, and the guests the joy of fellowship.  Eating should be a labor of love, and it should start in the kitchen.  I used to hate cooking, until I realized that I was going about it all the wrong way.  I often tried to make cooking easy- quick fast meals, easy preparation and few ingredients.  Then I started making a few meals the old fashioned way- from scratch, by hand and fell in love.  

A good meal starts with your mind as you think of all the wonderful dishes you could make, then your eyes as your search out the best ingredients, then your hands as you invest yourself to prepare it, and finally, a good meal ends in your mouth as you get to reap what you have spent so much time sowing.  Anything less than investing your best in a meal, your time and energy, heart and creativity, cheapens the meal, even just a little, and leaves everyone wanting.  Satisfaction comes from a meal that’s been long awaited.  

herb focaccia ready to put in the oven

I had such joy in creating this meal that by the time I was done making it, even if everyone hated it (which they didn’t) I wouldn’t have cared because I was so delighted by the process of creating it.  The menu: Simple lemon chicken, green beans, apricot and pecan salad with homemade honey vinaigrette, and (the star of the meal) homemade rosemary and thyme focaccia with olive oil for dipping.  I have never made focaccia bread before and I was so pleased how it turned out.  Baking bread is a ridiculous pleasure.  

The five of us polished off almost an entire focaccia loaf (I’m glad I made two!) and I thought the salad was the best salad I’ve ever had.  It was fresh and sweet and perfect.  I got the recipe for the vinaigrette here but I doubled the honey and the mustard. Salt and pepper to taste.  Dinner at home is so amazing in so many ways.  For me, I get to know that everything is really fresh and healthy (and vegan) and I can dig in without a care.  And I love the exclamations of delight from the guests as they enjoy my labors of love.  And it doesn’t hurt that my husband told me it was the best meal he has ever had.  Wow!  It doesn’t get any better than that!  Wives, what a wonderful way to bless your husband by investing yourself in your meals.  It is a joy and discipline I am eager to practice again and again.   

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Walking The Rough Road
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 02:37:03

    Looks yummy. I’m still working on making bread. I would LOVE to be able to make it but all I ever get are bricks. perhaps some day. I agree cooking is such a joy, truly an art! (especially bread making lol)

    Reply

  2. hol410
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 03:01:50

    Would you mind sharing your focaccia recipe? It sounds and looks fabulous!

    Reply

  3. sybaritica
    Aug 05, 2012 @ 01:10:53

    That really turned out beautifully!

    Reply

  4. Kristy
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 15:47:29

    It was a delicious meal!! The bread was the best I’d ever eaten..better than any restaurant! Thank you for having us! Love mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

