Homemade Fig Newton Bars

I recently was given a big jar of preserved figs straight from my husband’s grandma’a kitchen in Mississippi (thanks grandma Jean!) and I couldn’t wait to open it up and taste those wonderful figs which are now in season.  Of course, I had to think of something to do with them besides put them on my oatmeal (which was really good, by the way) and what better way to use figs than in this fig and cookie dessert or homemade “fig newton” bars.  Not only are these healthier than the store bought kind, which are usually loaded with “hydrogenated” oils (aka: trans fat) but I liked them so much better.  While the store bought kind have more of a cake texture to them, these were more like a cookie with the yummy figs in the middle.  I got the recipe here but of course substituted all of the fig ingredients for my preserved figs.  

 

For the ooey gooey fig middle I took about a cup of the preserved figs and chopped them up on a cutting board until the whole thing was mashed up and no big pieces remained.

Follow the recipe, but please don’t use wax paper underneath the cookie like it said to.  Most of it stuck to the cooked cookie and I had to painstakingly peel it off.  Ugh.  Just grease the pan really well (bottom and sides) with oil or butter.  It worked for our grandmothers, it will work for us too.

Cooling on a wire rack.

Cut into squares with a large knife. 

Upon eating my first warm square I immediately regretted not doubling the batch! These are wonderful snacks or dessert and great to share or take on any outing.

Enjoy! 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Wright
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 17:52:50

    Hi Brit, these look so good, and it is snack time here in CA!
    You could also use parchment paper to line the bottom of the pan after lightly greasing. You won’t have the problems like with wax paper, and you won’t be using as much oil or fat. Glad to see you are enjoying your role as homemaker!
    Love, Aunt Linda

    Reply

  2. adaisygarden
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 17:33:38

    Wow! That jar of figs looks unbelievably good. I can almost taste them! Do you have a recipe for this?? I would definitely love to try it. Your fig newton bars look very delicious also!

    Reply

  3. Jean McCardle
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 00:54:29

    I am so glad all of you were able to enjoy my fig perserves in such a delightful way.
    Gramma Jean

    Reply

Leave a Reply

