This Week At Home

Here are some of the fun things we’ve been up to this past week…

I made Marlee homemade play dough (her first experience with play dough!) and she seemed to enjoy this new sensory experience, but became very upset when she tried to eat it and realized it did not taste good!  Thank goodness it was homemade and I knew exactly what was in it- a simple mix of water, salt, flour and cornstarch. I got the recipe from The Toddler’s Busy Book by Trish Kuffner.

She discovered stickers…

Friday I took some friends along with me to the natural dairy farm I discovered about 30 minutes away, Gramen Farm.  We talked to a passionate farmer about health and dairy and the benefit of raw dairy products (I know what some of you are thinking…) He gave us kefir grains for free and I began making my own kefir with goat’s milk.  The above picture is my finished kefir smoothie (with banana and mango to take the edge off the tart flavor of the kefir) it was really good!  While I have many doubts about the benefit of commercial and processed milks and cheeses, homemade natural cultured/ fermented dairy has an ancient past and a long list of health benefits.

Saturday we went with a couple of friends to the farmer’s market where I bought some nice Texas peaches,

and a parsley plant for $1.00.  I was told this is not a Summer plant so it stays indoors, gets a bit of morning sun and lots of water. We’ll see how it does!

With the peaches I made a peach upside down cake in my cast iron skillet (sorry the lighting in the picture is a bit off I made it at night) also really good! The rest of the peaches I sliced and froze to use in smoothies.

We went to the library and borrowed books all about camping.  I’m using loosely the Joyful Learning curriculum for 2’s and 3’s (adapting it for my 1 1/2 year old).  Every month there is a theme and a Bible verse and themed activities.  I thought it would give us some fun things to do through out the week.  Her attention span is super duper short so we just do what we can. I’m not big on heavily structured days anyway.  Every month there is a play dough recipe and a sensory tub. This month the theme is camping, beaches and the ocean.  It helps that we went camping just a couple of weeks ago.  I know she is taking it all in even if she can’t tell me yet!

I love that in the midst of our very routine days of sleeping, waking, eating and cleaning we can find simple pleasures (like that peach cake, Mmmm) and memories.

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ariel Havanah
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 02:14:27

    We’ve been trying out Kombucha! we’re wanting to get to kefir sooner or later 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

